Page title

Princeton Classics graduates 18 concentrators and certificates; DeVaul and Freeman win Keaney Prize

Main page content

Published Date

May 29, 2024


The Department of Classics congratulates all its students from the Class of 2024 on their graduation from Princeton University! In addition to our twelve concentrators, Princeton Classics awarded its annual thesis prize and six language and culture certificates to students from five departments.

The John J. Keaney Prize for best senior thesis was divided between Desi Devaul and 2024 Salutatorian John Freeman, who joined Isabelle Casimir in receiving highest honors. Freeman's thesis, titled "Complexities and Communities of Care: Greco-Roman Antiquities as Objects of Concern" and advised by Barbara Graziosi, used three case studies to explore the complexities of repatriation of cultural artifacts through three case studies. Advised by Johannes Haubold, DeVaul's "Combining Tokenization Methods Towards Improved Machine Learning Models for Ancient Greek" expanded on his work for the Logion Project, developing machine learning techniques to find and emend errors in Greek manuscripts.

In addition to these departmental awards, Cathleen Weng received the Effron Center for the Study of America's Asher Hinds Prize for most outstanding work in the humanities. Her thesis was advised by Katerina Stergiopoulou and titled "Fathers, Flytraps, and Fish: an exploration of gender, sexuality, and family in Asian American classical reception."

The full cohort of 2024 Princeton Classicists follows, with their advisors or home departments:

Concentrators: Marta Baziuk (Benjamin Morison), Peter Brown (Andrew Feldherr), Isabelle Casimir (Daniela Mairhofer), Desi DeVaul (Johannes Haubold), John Freeman (Barbara Graziosi), Noah Kreike-Martin (Janet Kay), Connor Livingston (Peter Kelly), Jessica Lopez (Joshua Billings), Nathaniel Noftz (Harriet Flower), Hope Perry (Dan-el Padilla Peralta), Campbell Schouten (Mirjam Kotwick), Cathleen Weng (Katerina Stergiopoulou).

Ancient Roman Language & Culture Certificates: Reese Owen (Astrophysical Sciences), Shane Patrick (Near Eastern Studies), Tal Schaeffer (Linguistics), Garner Thompson (Computer Sciences)

Ancient Greek Language & Culture Certificates: Solomon Bergquist (Anthropology), Archie McKenzie (Computer Science)

The department congratulates all on their achievements and sends its best wishes on their academic and professional futures!