Page title

The John J. Keaney Prize 2023

Main page content

Published Date

May 31, 2023


The John J. Keaney Prize is the departmental prize for the best senior thesis. This award is in fond memory of Professor John Keaney, who served the Department as colleague, teacher, and mentor for 41 years, from 1959 to 2000. The award was established in 2010 to replace the Atkins Prize for the best senior thesis, which was awarded until 2009. Initial funding has been provided by a grateful alumnus, one of the many who learned so much from Professor Keaney.

The winners this year are: Evan Brandon- Making Sense of Humanity: Narrative and Sense Perception in the Gilgamesh Epic

Theodore Clement - Coming Full Circle: Studies in Poetics, Circularity and Progression in the Poetry of Boethius’ Consolation of Philosophy

Congratulations to the winners!